Fashion Innovation-#techstyle

Fashion

Yesterday I was my first time visiting the Museum of Fine Arts on Boston. I know what your thinking, how could you be going to art school and live a train ride away from this place and never visited before? Well, I don’t get out much,but I was immediately interested in seeing this since I heard about it one day in fashion design class. Anyways, I went with a group of my favorite art teachers and a few great classmates to see the #techstyle exhibition.

This exhibition opened March 6th of 2016 at the Museum of Fine arts Boston and is running until July 10th. It includes incredible works by Iris Van Herpen, Neri Oxman,Lauren Bowker, Alexander Mcqueen, and many more great creators.

IMG_0941

Collaboration between Iris Van Herpen, Neri Oxman, Prof.W Carter, and Stratasys

     Here is an amazing 3-D printed top and skirt designed by Iris Van Herpen, a a well established Dutch fashion designer that interned for Alexander Mcqueen.

IMG_0938

Pattern digitally printed on silk plain weave with enamel plaques.

     Above is a dress designed by Alexander McQueen that is shown at the entrance of the exhibition. Below, a 3-D printed Wearable Drawing  leather jacket designed by Elvira’t Hart.

         

IMG_0950

Laser cut metallic leather and Swarovski crystal detail designed by Giles Deacon

#techstyle is a great show of innovative and resourceful designs,many from unconventional or recycled materials. I defiantly suggest that those interested in fashion and curious as to what a glimpse into our future of clothing may look like, take a trip to the Museum of Fine Arts before your chance passes.

Leave a comment and let me know if you found this exhibit interesting. Would you guys ever visit and are you loving Iris Van Herpen as much as I am???

Leave a comment