What No One’s Ever Told You About Crochet Faux Locs 

beauty, Hair

So, its Summer time and you are just like me. You wake up hot and sweaty and the thought of wearing your fro out frustrates you. You just cant be bothered to do your hair. Summer is a great time for a protective styling and as always , easier tends to be better.


Crochet styles are so easy that they’re great for DIY. I did mine myself and they took about hours. So its been about two weeks since Ive installed them and a few things have been happening to them that were rather unexpected. Let me start off by I really love this style and am going to attempt to keep them in as long as I healthily can to aid in length retention.

I just wanted to give you guys an idea of some  of the things that I didn’t hear most people talking about when they reviewed types of hair and the style itself.

Frizz

So the first thing that Happened that I didn’t expect was that they started to get really frizzy really fast. Of course I expected some frizziness because that is the nature of this style but the rate in which the frizz started appearing  was very fast. There is a very easy fix for this, you simply  need to trim it off the messiest areas.  Ive found that it becomes less frizzy as time goes on as well.


Sticking Together

Something else I didn’t expect after I had installed my faux locs was how many little strings would get caught on other locs and cause them to stick together. Its a little annoying and it goes hand in hand with the crazy frizziness that just comes with this style, it is manageable by being gentle with the hair. It is important to remember that when dealing with this style of hair that it is just a long coil so it can come unraveled. Which leads me to my next point.

Unraveling

This is something that I think is the most annoying honestly. Maybe a day or two after installation, I began to see my real hair poking out of the locs. This just annoys me because o think that when I put my hair in a protective style that should mean its low to no manipulation right? So why do I have to keep re wrapping my hair???


Although this happens, the rate in  which you need to do this decreases and the style matures a little bit.

Although there are a few not so great things about this style, For the most part its my favorite protective style that Ive done so far on my natural hair journey.

Things I love about faux locs are that you can experience the style with zero commitment! If you’re like me you love to change it up and do something different styles all the time. I love locs but I know I would want to change it after a while.  you can  also do just about any color you want since you don’t really see anything but you root color,  and they are still a pretty low maintenance style that easily allows you to take care of your real hair without messing up the style too much.

If feel free to leave a comment with any further questions about how I did them, where I got them, how much hair was used and all that.  I may post a tutorial  soon when I do a second set and I could answer any of your questions there!

-Ash

 

 

Leave a comment